Later Alligator

Here they are the images of the alligators that I saw at the Arthur R. Marshall Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge.  The first guy I came upon was relatively small maybe around 4 FT swimming around in the marsh.  The second guy was HUGE maybe 7 to 8 FT! Living here in Florida I know they are around and I know that they can be very dangerous but I feel that they get a bad rap.  As I was taking pictures of the big guy (or girl) I was maybe 5 to 6 feet away and it could careless that I was even there.  The only movement made was opening and closing of its eyes every now and then. Alligators are like any other kind of wildlife, they are more afraid of you then you are of it and will only attack if provoked. Now this doesn’t mean that I am going swimming in any body of water where they could be anytime soon. This girl doesn’t want any accidents!  A lot of people go boating, fishing, kayaking, and canoeing at this Refuge; I have not tried at this Particular place but my first year in Florida I had a failed first attempt at another park in Jupiter. My fear took over the best of me, I was freaking out with every dip of the paddle and every branch or tree trunk I hit all the while seasoned visitors cruised around as though it was just for the exercise without a care in the world. What didn’t help were the disclosures they make you sign at the rental basically saying that it’s your own fault if you are attacked or bitten by an alligator or any kind of venomous snake! UGH I hate snakes more than anything else! One of these days I will attempt it again and actually be able to enjoy it….hopefully?

The Panoramic is of the area were all the boating and fishing activities take place…Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

