Giglio Society of East Harlem, NY

Over the Weekend I ventured to the community where my sister lives in East Harlem. I went on the last day of the Italian feast that was happening literally right outside her building! ” O’ Giglio in honor of sant’ Antonia di Padua (Saint Anthony of Padua)” They had all kinds of food, games, and tons of fireworks being set off.  The main reason that everyone is there is so they can do the ceremonial lift of the “Gigli” or “Giglio” I am not sure of the proper term. It is a large structure on a wooden base where a band and a few others sit and stand on it while it is carried around in stages to the Church in this case it was Our Lady of Mount Carmel in East Harlem. It must be quite the effort but interesting none the less. This time was actually the first year where the did the walking of it twice! Those people must have been tried!

I posted a video on my Instagram & Twitter account if you wanted to check it out? You can find me  @caraloio

 

One thought on “Giglio Society of East Harlem, NY

  1. I use to live right next store to the church. I lived with the sisters who go to the church for mass and they told me funny stories about the Priest who used to work there. I’m not sure till this day why the celebrate the feast of Mount Carmel but they do.
    You took great pictures…i was there!!! Glad you got to experince the loud Italian side of East Harlem!
    Please check out what I’ve been doing by FDR.

Leave a Reply

