The Great Jack O’Lantern Blaze

Every Year Historic Hudson Valley puts on a Jack O’Lantern walk where artist and volunteers carve over 5,000 pumpkins to create sculptures. Of course not all of the pumpkins are real; they would become rotten too quickly and for some of the sculptures just be too heavy.

This event does have a lot of people who walk through it, which could make things unpleasant because it gets crowded. This makes it extremely difficult to be able to just stop and take a beautiful long exposure, that and the constant cameras flashing, oh yea and people walking right into you! But I’ll give them that it was dark and we were surrounded by trees, but still! None the less I LOVE going, well mostly because I love all things Halloween!

If only more of the photographs came out better you would have seen skeleton dinosaurs, of all kinds and sizes, Monsters like Ogres and Cyclops, and then my favorite pretty close to life-size Elephants, Giraffes, and Gorillas.

I highly recommend this as a family outing its beautifully amazing and the designs are always changing.

Historic Hudson Valley also does a “haunted Walk” this time of year among many other fantastic historical based events.  I have not been to that in a few years I have heard that it changed (More like a haunted house; not my cup of tea). When I went it was more of a recreation of the Legend of sleepy hollow (this is also the area in upstate New York where it is located, Tarrytown / Sleepy Hollow).

Which is a must watch movie at Halloween for me! I recommend the 1980 TV movie version with Jeff Goldblum, a staple of my childhood! But if you can find it the classic Disney cartoon is hands down THE BEST version of them all. Of course you can’t go wrong with Tim Burton either…Ever!

Ok enough of my ranting… Sorry about that, Enjoy the Photos

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter @caraloio

 

Leave a Reply

